狗狗和幼犬的护理

puppy in bucket

Return to our English site

哪一个品种最好?狗的品种有很多,总会有一种真正适合您。

如果您正在考虑养一只新的狗狗,请下载我们以上精选的幼犬指南,浏览我们的有关狗狗护理的页面。

营养和饮食

See our full articles on what and how to feed at How to feed your puppy or dog and Keeping dogs teeth clean.

我们推荐采用优质的狗粮品牌来喂养狗狗,如Hills Vet Essentials, Science Diet

或 Royal Canin。请基于您的宠物需求向我们询求推荐。您可以使用罐装食品或干粮。一定要在固定时间来喂食,而不是使狗狗随时或过度进食。

幼犬一次无法吃掉全部食物。请一日三次定量给它们喂食,将每次剩下的食物留在碗里,这样它们稍后可以回来再吃。

喂食自制食物或残羹剩饭往往会引发健康问题。新鲜的水果和蔬菜可能改善饮食,但是一定不要喂食葡萄,洋葱或大蒜。

生髓骨可以用来喂食(参见我们的安全信息),但是不要将骨头煮熟。任何时间都要保持充足的清水供应。

bobalot treat dispenser

当您无法在您的狗狗旁边时,应当想法设法使狗狗愉快地进食。

Our Guide to better dog toys shows more examples and there is a stuffing recipe in our Dog feeding guide.

一个普遍存在的错误是使狗狗养成挑食的习惯。大多数情况下,这是由于主人过分担心他们的狗狗不喜欢食物所造成的。大多数人都不敢相信幼犬所进的少量食物能够满足自身的需要,而且会无谓地担心它们吃的不够。

这里的诀窍是绝不要仅喂食优质,均衡性的狗粮而不提供更多的选择,否则会使狗狗养成不好的习惯。如果您对幼犬称重之后发现他或她发育良好,您可以从我们这里获得有关未来最恰当的进食量的建议。

疫苗接种

幼犬应当注射‘C5’疫苗,包括小病毒,犬瘟热,肝炎,博德特氏菌和副流感防护。幼犬不应当在公共场所活动直至最后一次疫苗接种的1周后,从而将感染这些可怕疾病的几率降低到最小的程度。

成犬每年进行一次加强剂量的免疫接种。

在Walkerville Vet,当幼犬10个周大的时候会尽快对其进行最终的幼犬免疫接种。这使得它们从11周大的时候就能够进行群体活动。

我们的早期预防接种套餐包括:

10星期完成C5小病毒性肠胃炎,犬瘟热,肝炎,犬咳预防接种

3个月使用Revolution防护犬恶丝虫,跳蚤和螨虫

3个月肠道除虫

每个月短信提醒治疗的到期日

犬恶丝虫,跳蚤和肠道除虫将在您的幼犬6个月大,应该进行绝育的时候完成。您可以在那天作出您的首选。

本套餐适合那些想要使他们的幼犬保持最健康的状态的主人。早期幼犬预防接种套餐对于不同大小的幼犬的收费都是$258.90。

犬恶丝虫的预防

See also our page at on choosing the right product at Heartworm, Flea and Intestinal Worm Protection for Dogs

在阿德莱德,犬恶丝虫是在狗的体内引发疾患的一种普遍而又十分严重的因子。该疾病是由寄生在心脏和主要血管内的较大的成虫引起的。通常被感染的外部迹象仅仅表现为轻微但是持续性的咳嗽,或体重的下降,但是潜在的损害却是十分巨大。很多染有犬恶丝虫的狗根本不会显示任何的外部迹象。该疾病是通过蚊子传递的,蚊子会在其叮咬的狗狗之间携带和传播微小的幼虫。

由于这种寄生虫所造成的威胁以及一旦其得到寄生很难治疗的特性,对于犬恶丝虫感染的预防便显得尤为重要。如果采用正确的产品,预防的有效率接近100%。部分预防性治疗也可以应对跳蚤和一些肠道蠕虫。

对于犬恶丝虫的控制,很多主人在产品的选择上存在困惑。在WALKERVILLE VET ,我们已经从一组产品中作出了选择,其满足了最有效并且最经济的潮流新品的所有条件。

幼犬应当在3个月大的时候开始犬恶丝虫的预防,但是如果年龄大一些的狗之前没有进行过持续的预防,那么可能需要进行验血。

肠道除虫

肠道蠕虫在狗的体内是非常普遍的,它们需要定期的预防性治疗。幼犬遭受的威胁最为严重,而且如果不及时除虫,通常会发展成为比较严重的疾患。感染蠕虫最普遍的迹象是食欲不振和腹部肿胀。

我们建议幼犬在4个星期到12个星期大的这段时间内每两周除虫一次,之后到六个月大的这段时间内每个月除虫一次。超过6个月大的幼犬可以如同成年犬一样,每三个月除虫一次。除虫非常重要,不仅益于宠物的健康,同时还能预防疾病对小朋友造成感染。只要狗狗接受了适当的治疗,小朋友也养成了餐前洗手的习惯,那么是完全没有必要担心这种疾患的。

跳蚤和其他寄生虫控制

跳蚤成虫是一种环境性的害虫,在有动物的地方大量滋生。它在动物经过时跳到它们的身上,然后靠饮食宿主的鲜血为生,其产的卵在狗或猫行走的时候会脱落下来。

所有的动物都易于接触到跳蚤,所以我们建议采用持续性的防护。

最好的跳蚤防控是每月进行一次,无论是通过片剂还是局部液体。我们储备了全部的主要产品并且总是乐意结合您的幼犬的情况为您作出最佳的建议。

如果您正在使用另一种产品,请就其适用性咨询一下我们的建议。尤其值得注意地是,大多数非兽医(如超市/宠物商店)跳蚤控制产品是没有效果的。我们同时对于其很多并非来自于兽医的治疗的安全性也感到忧虑。

绝育

绝育同时对于雌犬和雄犬都是高度推荐的。除非主人对狗的繁衍有需求,否则都应当进行绝育。请阅读我们的博客“有关绝育的真相:对您的狗进行阉割”(English) 并且观看右边的视频。

何时进行绝育?我们对于雌性和雄性均推荐在其6个月大的时候。这恰恰是在雄犬开始发生行为的改变或雌犬开始进入发情期的时候。我们建议等到这一天,因为很多幼犬将同时需要去除还未自然长出乳牙(奶牙)。如果我们在更早的时候对其进行绝育,那么他们可能需要第二次麻醉。

retained canine teeth
puppy milk teeth

绝育可以防止意外怀孕并且消除雌犬的发情期。每年产下的很多遭到遗弃的幼犬都是主人未能控制其未绝育的动物的结果。狗的兴奋期大概持续三个星期,每年发生1-2次,在此期间,雌犬会连绵不断地产生血淋淋的外阴排出物并且吸引到雄犬的注意。

绝育同时也能够减少雄犬的行为性问题。这些行为的大多数都会由于睾丸激素的存在而进一步的恶化,尤其具有攻击性。这无论是对于大型还是小型品系都是如此。在睾丸激素的产生不断增加之前进行早期绝育能够预防很多无法治疗的疾病。即便是如同尿记这样的琐事也是会令人感到懊恼。一旦这些行为发展起来,晚期绝育通常无法解决这些问题。所以,雄犬需要在他们出现这些问题之前进行绝育。这对于涉及儿童的场合尤为重要。

绝育还能预防很多老年疾病。雌犬的子宫感染和乳腺癌,雄犬的睾丸癌和前列腺肿大都是非常常见而且严重的老年疾病,这些都是可以通过早期绝育进行预防的。

同时对于雌犬和雄犬而言,绝育的不利因素包括潜在的体重增加,这是由于它们对于食物的需求降低了10%。这可以通过术后减少日常饮食来控制。

很多主人将决定不对他们的狗进行绝育,但是只要他们充分了解了阉割的原因,我们不会争论其选择。您当地的市政服务机构对于阉割犬的注册提供了大约50%的折扣,以此来支持狗的阉割。

我们拥有专业的手术室,用于日常的外科手术。我们训练有素的员工以及配备精良且齐全的设备使我们能够完成大多数的外科手术,包括骨折修复或腹部手术。每一例外科手术都采用的是经过消毒的器械包,在专用的手术室中为每一位患者有条不紊地进行。

我们对于我们的麻醉记录感到骄傲,并且根据每一位患者的不同需求,采用专业的有针对性的方法。所有的患者在麻醉之前都会进行身体检查,以确认是否存在可能降低手术安全性的问题。有一些患者需要麻醉前验血。一旦被麻醉,患者在进行静脉注射支持的同时,其麻醉深度,血氧水平,心率,血压和核心体温都会得到不间断地监控。我们使用的是安全性得到明显改善的异氟烷麻醉剂,短效麻醉,易于恢复。

您可以在为您的宠物预约之前要求我们为您展示我们的设施。

微芯片

microchip and minichip

所有的狗在早期都应当植入一个微芯片。微芯片广泛应用于我们的地区,使得您的狗走失的概率几乎为零。微芯片的植入在大多数情况下无需麻醉,但是通常与绝育同时完成。与此同时或在下一次麻醉时,在耳朵上安置“M”纹身是标准的做法。然而,这样的刺青并非是绝对必要的。

微芯片是以极小的成本进行永久且安全的身份认证的方法。您的犬类登记理事会将对芯片的植入予以少量的折扣,这很大程度上抵消了您的狗的终身芯片成本。

行为和管理

狗是社会性动物,出于其安全和健康的考量,应当尽可能地使其融入到主人的生活方式中。对此,选择正确的品种非常重要。所有的狗每天都应当进行活动- 有一个大院子并不能代替散步的刺激和陪伴并且通常需要鼓励狗来活动。狗喜欢井然有序的生活并且来自于其主人的清晰且持续性的沟通会对其有很大的裨益。由此大多数的狗也都会服从管理和训练。

犬类行为方面的专家在遇到行为问题时通常会引用这样一句话“不要责备狗”。狂吠不止,破坏性行为,攻击性,屋内污损和焦虑等行为问题都与主人的饲养方式以及主人对于狗的需求的应对息息相关。

没有天生的坏狗,所有的幼犬在正确的建议和训练之下都可以养成模范行为。请记住,我们在这里是提供帮助,而不是批评表现不好的主人。我们尽最大的努力为幼犬提供最佳的护理,同时就应对行为性问题提出合理建议。如果有相关问题产生,请尽快咨询我们。

幼犬(16个星期大之前)早期的社教化过程对于其成长非常重要。使其广泛接触到‘普通’的经历,包括男性和女性,孩子,举动得当的(健康的)狗和猫,以及其他幼犬和幼猫。同时它们也需要习惯普通的日常用品,如真空吸尘器和割草机。对于狗而言,幼犬学前班是早期社教化过程最为重要的一环。

狗需要定期洗澡,以保持清洁。它们也将需要一个安全的院子和一个‘兽窝’- 只需要布置一个有床的小窝,在那里它们在独居或打雷的时候能够产生安全感。

Dogs

puppy in bucketChoosing A Dog Breed

There are so many breeds of dog that it’s really true that there’s a breed for everyone. If you are considering getting a new dog, please visit our Ultimate Guide to choosing and caring for a new puppy. It covers finding the ideal breed, best family pets and getting the house ready for a puppy.

Nutrition and Dental Care

See our full articles on what and how to feed at How to feed your puppy or dog and Keeping dogs teeth clean.

We recommend feeding dogs on super-premium dog foods, whether canned or dry but always in meals at set times rather than free access or treat feeding. Feeding home-prepared foods or table scraps often leads to nutritional problems. Please ask us for a recommendation based on your pet’s requirements.

bobalot treat dispenserRaw marrowbones can be fed (read our bone feeding guide for safety information) but never cooked bones. Fresh fruit and vegetables in moderation probably enhance the diet but never feed grapes or bulbs such as onion. Fresh water must be available at all times.

When you can’t be around, consider using part of the diet in ‘boredom buster’ treat balls, food puzzles or mazes. Bob-a-lots (left) are excellent for using dog biscuits. Kong make a range of chew toys which can be stuffed with their own proprietary mix or you can make your own. Our Guide to better dog toys shows more examples and there is a stuffing recipe in our Dog feeding guide.

Dog Skin Care

Skin allergies and dermatitis are common in Adelaide dogs. You can help by reading our guide to helping dogs with itchy skin, plus our guide to canine ear infections and why dogs lick their feet.

Preventing skin problems can be as simple as knowing how to bath a dog properly and using good flea control.

Vaccination

Puppies are vaccinated with ‘C5’ vaccines including parvovirus, distemper, hepatitis, bordetella and parainfluenza protection. We recommend puppies not be exercised in public places until 1 week after their last vaccination to minimise the chance of infection with these devastating diseases, especially parvovirus which remains common in unvaccinated dogs exposed to public areas.

For information on the diseases, visit What do vaccines actually do?

It is now possible to give puppies their puppy immunisation at 10 weeks of age. This allows them to socialise and exercise from 11 weeks of age. For information on our early puppy vaccination visit Puppy Vaccination.

Adult dogs now receive their vaccinations using a vaccine with allows protection against parvovirus, distemper and hepatitis (C3) for three years. This allows us to give them yearly vaccinations for canine cough only and a 3-yearly C5 to maintain a full C5-standard of immunity. We have seen no evidence of illness or harm caused by more frequent annual vaccinations but we believe it is prudent to use the longer-acting vaccines when available to reduce the potential for over-vaccination.

Heartworm Prevention

Heartworm is a serious cause of illness in dogs in Adelaide. Read all about heartworm here (warning- there are some nasty pictures).

Prevention of heartworm infection is important due to the danger posed by the parasite as well as the difficulty in treating the established disease. If the right product is used, prevention is close to 100% effective. Some preventatives may also treat fleas and some intestinal worms.

At first glance there seems to be a bewildering array of choices on offer for heartworm control. See our page at on choosing the right product at Heartworm, Flea and Intestinal Worm Protection for Dogs.

Puppies should commence heartworm prevention at 3 months of age, but older dogs may require a blood test if their prevention has not been continuous since a puppy.

Intestinal Worming

Intestinal worms are very common in dogs and we strongly recommend regular preventative treatment. Puppies are most at risk, and will often develop problems if worming is not performed. This is caused by roundworms physically obstructing the intestines. Roundworms are passed from the mother to the young prior to birth and develop and breed quickly if unchecked due to the lack of resistance of newborns. Dogs also get several types of hookworms and tapeworms, and dogs are susceptible to whipworm infestation. All of these worms are spread by microscopic, highly resistant eggs passed into the environment via faeces.

You can learn more about the worms of dogs here.

How Do You Know If Your Dog Has Worms?

The most common sign of a worm infestation in a puppy is a poor appetite together with a swollen belly. In older dogs, symptoms are more vague and can just be poor health, weight loss or diarrhoea.

To diagnose worm problems, we send faeces away for testing. However, if you follow normal preventative schedules, it is very unlikely that your dog will have enough worms to cause illness.

How Often To Worm Dogs

Puppies should be wormed every 2 weeks up to 12 weeks of age, and then monthly to 6 months of age. Pups over 6 months can be wormed the same as adults every 3 months for life. Worming is important not only for the health of the pet but also to prevent disease in young children. The condition in children called ‘visceral larva migrans’ is caused by children ingesting worm eggs, which then hatch and the larvae cause damage in their migration through the body. With an appropriately dewormed dog and children educated to wash hands before eating, there is no reason for concern.

Heartworm prevention is just as important as preventing intestinal worms (see above).

Flea and other parasite control

The adult flea is an environmental pest which infests most if not all areas where animals are found. It jumps onto passing animals and then feeds on the host’s blood, laying eggs which fall off during the dog or cat’s travels.

All animals are exposed to fleas and so we recommend the use of continuous protection. It is very hard to find fleas on infested animals and the best policy is to use flea control like ‘insurance’.

The good flea controls are all monthly, whether by tablet or topical liquid. We stock all the major products and a always happy to advise you on the best for your pup.

Having said this, if you are using another product, please ask for our advice on its suitability. In particular, it is worth noting that most non-veterinary (i.e. supermarket/pet store) flea control products are ineffective. We are also not happy with the safety of many of these treatments.

Desexing

Desexing is highly recommended for both female and male dogs. Our normal advice for pet owners is to have their animals desexed unless they intend to breed from them. Read our blog at The truth about neutering: desexing your dog and watch our video.

When to desex? We recommend 6 months of age for both sexes. This is just prior to the onset of behaviour changes in males or coming into season in females. Especially with smaller breeds, we would advise waiting until this date as many will also require the removal of temporary teeth (milk teeth) which have not shed naturally. If we desex sooner, they may need a second anaesthetic. The pictures below show how the retained teeth interfere with the normal occlusion (‘bite’) if not removed.

retained canine teethpuppy milk teeth

Desexing prevents unwanted pregnancies and eliminates the heat period in females. Many of the unwanted puppies produced each year are the result of owners failing to control their undesexed animals. Heats in dogs last roughly 3 weeks and occur 1-2 times a year during which females have a persistent bloody vulval discharge and attract unwanted male attention.

Desexing also reduces male dog behaviour problems. Most of these behaviours are exacerbated and reinforced by testosterone, especially aggression. This is true of all breeds large and small. Early desexing prior to increased testosterone production prevents many otherwise untreatable disorders. Even trivial things like urine marking can be frustrating. Once these behaviours develop, late desexing is often unable to fix the problem, so in effect, male dogs need to be desexed before they show these problems. This is especially important where children are involved.

Desexing also prevents many diseases of old age. Pyometra and mammary cancer in female dogs, testicular cancer and prostatic enlargement in male dogs are all very common and serious disorders of aging animals, and all prevented by early desexing.

Disadvantages of desexing include the potential for weight gain in both sexes, due to a 10% drop in food requirements. This can be controlled by reducing the diet after desexing, and bearing in mind that the time of desexing also coincides with a natural slowing down in growth and therefore a lower food requirement regardless.

Many owners will decide not to desex their dog, but as long as they are well informed of the reasons for desexing we don’t argue with their choice. It’s also worth knowing that your local council supports dog desexing by offering around 50% discounts to register a desexed dog.

Before you book in your dog for desexing, read our guides to What to do before a dog is desexed and How to look after dogs after surgery.

Anaesthesia and Surgery

We have a specialised operating theatre which we use on a daily basis for surgical procedures. Our trained staff and the range of equipment at our disposal makes us able to perform most surgical procedures, including fracture repair or abdominal surgery. Every surgical operation is performed using a fresh sterilised instrument pack used for only that patient in a dedicated operating theatre.

We are very proud of our anaesthetic record, and take a careful and thorough approach to each individual, depending on their specific needs. All patients receive a physical examination prior to anaesthesia to identify any problems which may reduce the safety of the procedure. Some require pre-anaesthetic blood testing. Once anaesthetised, patients are given intravenous fluid support while anaesthetic depth, blood oxygen levels, heart rate, blood pressure and core body temperature are monitored continuously. We use isoflurane gas anaesthesia for maintaining all patients due to its improved safety and all patients are induced with short-acting anaesthetics for improved recoveries.

Please ask us to show you our facilities before you book in your pet and read our Guide to Anaesthetic Safety in Dogs.

Microchips

microchip and minichip

All dogs should have a microchip implanted at some stage early in their life. The widespread use of microchips in our area has made dog pounds and unclaimed dogs almost a thing of the past. Microchipping can be performed in most dogs without an anaesthetic but is often done at the same time as desexing. It is standard practice to place a “M” tattoo in the ear at the same time or with the next anaesthetic. However, a tattoo is not considered absolutely necessary.

The picture shows the new mini chips next to the older standard microchip. The cost is the same and inserting them causes less discomfort. It is a permanent and safe identification method at a minimal cost. Your dog’s council registration will give a small discount for microchipping which should mostly offset the cost of the chip over your dog’s lifetime.

Behaviour and Management

For more detailed behaviour advice, read our Guide to Raising Puppies, Ultimate Puppy Guide and Dog Training pages.

Dogs are social animals and for their best welfare need to be included in their owners’ lifestyles as much as possible. For this reason, choosing the right breed matters. All dogs should be exercised daily- having a large yard is no substitute for the stimulation and companionship of walking and dogs will often need to be encouraged to exercise. Dogs love routine and order in their lives and benefit from clear and consistent expectations from their owners. Most dogs enjoy dog obedience and training classes for this reason.

Experts in dog behaviour are often quoted saying “don’t blame the dog” when there’s a behaviour problem. Nuisance barkinganxiety, destructive behaviour, aggression, house soiling all have their origins in the way an owner has raised their dog and how they provide for their essential needs. There is no dog who is born bad, and any puppy can be raised to be a model canine citizen with the right advice and training. Remember that we are here to help and will not judge someone badly who seeks our advice. We do our best to set puppies on the right track as well as advise on correcting behaviour problems. Ask us as soon as possible if a problem appears.

Early socialisation of puppies before 16 weeks is very important for a well-rounded and less fearful adult. Exposure to a wide range of ‘normal’ experiences includes a range of people of both sexes and children, well-behaved (healthy) dogs and cats, and other puppies or kittens. Also they need to get used to normal daily items like vacuum cleaners and lawn mowers. For dogs, puppy preschool is the single most important part of early socialisation.

Email Us Your Questions

8 + 0 = ?